nutrition for your ears

Fresh Picks: Bombay Bicycle Club

Funky electronics, infectious guitar riffs and

creamy vocal harmonies make them hard not to love.

By Mckay Robertson

It’s all about having fun for the guys in Bombay Bicycle Club as is obvious from the first single “Shuffle” from their new album “A Different Kind of Fix”.  This fun-loving quartet from Crouch End, North London are full of life and hungry to explore new sonic territory.  Even after 2 EP’s and 3 full length albums each with its own unique sound, they are still evolving.

Its surprising Bombay Bicycle Club has had so much success taking into account that they just barely graduated from secondary school (high school), but their youthfulness may actually be a key component to their success. They’ve grown an extensive following of devoted fans perhaps partially because they are the same age and can relate to their audience.  They’re sound has been compared to that of Radiohead, Arctic Monkey, and Placebo among others.

I originally came across Bombay Bicycle Club through my brother who also introduced me to a YouTube channel called watchlistentell or WLT for short.  Its a great way to find out about new up and coming artists.  Here’s a description of what WLT is all about from their YouTube channel page: “WLT is a non profit music channel. Dedicated to creating unique acoustic performances, favouring the new but always welcoming the seasoned, artists and musicians.Thank you for your encouragement and support, long may we watch, listen and tell.”

My first reaction in watching the video was surprise because of their lack of fashion sense (WLT is targeted towards the extremely fashion conscious hipster crowd).  I was charmed by their nonchalance and their nerdiness. Then I heard their music and again my reaction was surprise.  The talent of the lead singer Jack Steadman, compounded by the equal talent easily visible in each of the band members cemented my love for the band. It was everything I ever could’ve wanted, an indie rock band devoid of the constrictions of mainstream indie/hipster style of music.

Bombay Bicycle Club is currently touring extensively worldwide.  I plan on seeing them Aug. 7th at In The Venue in Salt Lake City, UT.  Join me if you like.  Click here for more tour dates

Albums:

I Had The Blues But I Shook Them Loose” – 2008

“Flaws” – 2010

“A Different Kind of Fix” – 2011

Here’s a few more of my favorite songs:

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 25, 2012 by in FRESH PICKS.

Blog Stats

  • 13,599 hits