nutrition for your ears

Vintage Jams: Frank Sinatra

By Sara Bitterman

Vintage is a word that currently permeates our society as many people try to recreate the past in fashion. However, the same thing happens with music as many artists do covers of musicians from many decades ago. One of my favorite examples of who does this is Michael Bublé. However, whenever I decide to post a song from him on my Facebook page, my sister, a connoisseur of fine music, comments, “Frank sang it better.”

Frank Sinatra was born December 12, 1915 in Hoboken, New Jersey and was a popular singer and actor for most of the 20th century, his career spanning more than 50 years. His music, which can only be described as big band, is still popular today, despite the fact that his solo career began back in 1943, before most of his fans today were born.  This shows the timelessness of his performances today, because not only does he influence other artists, but also he himself is still popular.

When I asked my sister why she loves his music so much and prefers him to those who cover his songs she said, “His music is so unique because he makes the music his own with his phrasing and the way he sings. You don’t just know it’s his music because of his voice it’s the way he sings it that lets you know that it’s him. He has a greater command of the music that he sings. He made the music that he sang more different than anything else anyone was singing at the time.”

My sister had a difficult time explaining to me what made him more preferable, but I believe that is because it’s something everyone has to hear for themselves. While I adore Michael Bublé I know exactly what she means when she says that Frank’s voice is different. This can be illustrated when you compare the song Summer Wind, which Michael covered.

While it seems like the only thing that is different is the tempo of the song, there must be something about his voice in order for him to have been nicknamed the “The Voice” and “The Sultan of Swoon.” While I most definitely prefer Michael’s upbeat version of the song, I must admit that Frank’s sultry voice and jazzy inflections add more to the music. These unique features to his songs are probably why he had 17 different Top 10 singles within the first 3 years of his career and probably why his music is still played and valued today.

While my sister and I will most likely never agree on who is a better singer, I will concede that there is just something about Frank Sinatra’s voice that makes him more unique than any other musician since his time.

One comment on “Vintage Jams: Frank Sinatra

  1. Tom Robinson
    June 3, 2012

    Oh I love Frank – what a voice!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2012 by in VINTAGE JAMS.

Blog Stats

  • 13,599 hits